Author Topic: Discover after device renamed  (Read 2730 times)

Offline pshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Discover after device renamed
« on: August 07, 2010, 06:41:18 AM »
I think I found a bug.  I am using the latest WCL library, Windows XP, microsoft BT stack.  If I do a discovery I see my device named "Test1".  If I then rename the device by sending a "Friendly Name" commmand to the device (this is a device specific command) the name changes tp "Test2".  This is expected.  But if I then do a discover again it sees it as "Test1", not "Test2".  If I unplug the BT donggle and plug it back in and do a discover, then it sees "Test2".  I tested the discover with the Bluetooth Discovery Demo and get the same results.  Any ideas?  Thanks

Offline Mike Petrichenko

  • Bluetooth Framework Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3053
  • Karma: 1000
    • Soft Service Company
Re: Discover after device renamed
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 11:16:01 AM »
It is not a bug, it is how MS works. Usualy it appears if device was paired.

Offline pshaw

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: 0
Re: Discover after device renamed
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 05:49:40 PM »
I don't think that is correct.  I have similar functionality running on Windows Mobile 6.1 using Franson Bluetools and it uses the MS stack and everything works fine.

Offline Mike Petrichenko

  • Bluetooth Framework Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3053
  • Karma: 1000
    • Soft Service Company
Re: Discover after device renamed
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 09:13:53 PM »
I do not think it is correct too but it is out of my control. Of course, you may ask MS. WM works absolutly different and my code on WM re-read names as well.

Offline ami

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
Re: Discover after device renamed
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2010, 09:14:07 PM »
Is there a work around for this. I'm having a similar problem. I know it's more of a MS issue than a WCL issue.

Just wonder if there's a command to force the radio to 'refresh all' or somthing similar

Offline Mike Petrichenko

  • Bluetooth Framework Developer
  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3053
  • Karma: 1000
    • Soft Service Company
Re: Discover after device renamed
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2010, 09:29:16 PM »
Unfortunately ther is no such command.

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9