Author Topic: Visual Basic 2008 Express  (Read 2297 times)

Offline roadhouse

Visual Basic 2008 Express
« on: February 03, 2010, 12:31:09 AM »
Hi,

I am new to VB and am having a lot of difficulty in getting the demo programs to run in vb2008 Express. Its probably my lack of understanding but does the WCL .NET or .COM versions run under VB2008 Express (think it uses .NET 3.5 too)?

When I try to run the demos I generally get unhandled exceptions errors.

Is there any 'quick start for dummies' type of guide to using the libraries ? how do i load them into VB2008 ? is it just adding a reference or is there something else i need to do ?

How would i go about running a small program to indicate if the BTdevice can be seen by the program ?

I'm certain its my fault but I could really do with some guidance from you experts, just a couple of pointers would be great.

Cheers

Offline Mike Petrichenko

• Bluetooth Framework Developer
  • Administrator
    • Soft Service Company
Re: Visual Basic 2008 Express
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2010, 12:41:18 AM »
Hi,

Unfortunatly we have no VB 2008 express, but on full Visual Studio 2008 you can simple open any WCL demo (after WCL installed). For your project you have to add references to wcl.dll and to Microsoft.VC80.CRT.manifest (both files are located in <WCL_INSTALL_DIR>\redist).

You can try Bluetooth Discovery Demo to find out how to discover devices around your PC.

Offline roadhouse

« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2010, 01:03:43 AM »
Hi Mike,

Many thanks indeed for your quick reply. I loaded the two files and the demo now works. Once again, many many thanks.

When I loaded the project, i received two errors shown in a 'to prevent possible data loss when loading the designer...' banner. there were